أطلق كينيث ميجيا من حملة مراقب المدينة خريطة تفاعلية رائدة على الإنترنت لتحديد مواقع الوحدات السكنية ذات الأسعار المعقولة

للنشر الفوري

22 سبتمبر 2021

اتصال: jane@mejiaforcontroller.com

لوس أنجلوس - استجابةً لحاجة المستأجرين غير الملباة لقاعدة بيانات مركزية للوحدات السكنية ذات الأسعار المعقولة ، أصدرت حملة Kenneth Mejia لـ LA City Controller خريطة تفاعلية عبر الإنترنت تتيح للمستخدمين تصفح جميع الشقق في لوس أنجلوس مع مواثيق الإسكان بأسعار معقولة الممنوحة من عام 2010 حتى مايو 2021. تُظهر الخريطة العناوين الدقيقة وعدد الوحدات السكنية ذات الأسعار المعقولة في كل مبنى. 

اعرض الخريطة على: Affordablehousing.mejiaforcontroller.com

تحقيق حديث بواسطة رأس المال والرئيسية وجد أن مدينة لوس أنجلوس تفتقر إلى قائمة مركزية للوحدات السكنية ذات الأسعار المعقولة في المباني ذات الدخل المختلط على الرغم من أن المدينة تدفع 2 مليون دولار لمقاول خاص للحفاظ على المخزون. اتخذت حملة Mejia زمام المبادرة لتوفير أداة لمساعدة المستأجرين في تحديد موقع هذه الوحدات ذات الأسعار المعقولة. هذه الأداة هي الخطوة الأولى فقط في مساعدة المستأجرين على الوصول إلى مساكن ميسورة التكلفة. توصي الحملة بأن تقدم إدارة الإسكان معلومات محدثة عن توافر هذه الوحدات ذات الأسعار المعقولة وعملية التقديم بحيث يمكن للمستأجرين المؤهلين التقدم.

كينيث ميجيا منظم منذ فترة طويلة مع اتحاد مستأجري لوس أنجلوس ويطبق خلفيته التنظيمية لحملته لمراقب المدينة. يقول ميجيا: "من غير المقبول أن تجعل إدارة الإسكان بمدينة لوس أنجلوس (LAHD) من الصعب جدًا على المستأجرين العثور على وحدات ميسورة التكلفة والتقديم. بصفتنا مراقب المدينة ، سنركز على مساءلة إدارات المدينة مثل LAHD ونطور أدوات تجعل من السهل على Angelenos اليومية التنقل في خدمات المدينة. خريطة الإسكان الميسورة التكلفة هذه هي مجرد مثال واحد على الموارد التي نقدمها بالفعل على الرغم من أننا لم نكن في المكتب بعد ". 

حول كينيث ميجيا

كينيث ميجيا هو محاسب قانوني معتمد (CPA) وناشط في مجال عدالة الإسكان ولد وترعرع في لوس أنجلوس. حتى الآن ، تمت المصادقة على كينيث من قبل التقدميين وقادة المجتمع بما في ذلك عضو جمعية كاليفورنيا أليكس لي ، والدكتورة ميلينا عبد الله (المؤسس المشارك لـ Black Lives Matter - LA) ، وعدد كبير من أعضاء مجلس إدارة مجلس الحي ومندوبي منطقة التجمع الديمقراطي للحزب في كاليفورنيا .

الموقع: mejiaforcontroller.com

تويتر | انستغرام | تيك توك | فيسبوك:kennethmejiaLA

Kenneth Mejia for City Controller Campaign Releases Groundbreaking Interactive Online Map to Locate Affordable Housing Units

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

September 22, 2021

Contact: jane@mejiaforcontroller.com

LOS ANGELES – In response to renters’ unmet need for a centralized database of affordable housing units, the Kenneth Mejia for LA City Controller campaign has released an interactive online map that allows users to browse all apartments in Los Angeles with affordable housing covenants granted from 2010 to May 2021. The map shows the exact addresses and number of affordable housing units in each building. 

View the map at: affordablehousing.mejiaforcontroller.com

A recent investigation by Capital & Main has found that the City of LA lacks a centralized listing of affordable housing units in mixed-income buildings despite the City paying $2 million to a private contractor to maintain an inventory. The Mejia campaign has taken the initiative to provide a tool to help renters locate these affordable units. This tool is just the first step in helping renters access affordable housing. The campaign recommends that the Housing Department provide up-to-date information on the availability of these affordable units and the application process so that qualified tenants can apply.

Kenneth Mejia is a longtime organizer with the LA Tenants Union and applies his organizing background to his campaign for City Controller. Says Mejia: “It is unacceptable that the City of LA’s Housing Department (LAHD) makes it so difficult for renters to locate affordable units and apply. As City Controller, we will focus on holding city departments like LAHD accountable and develop tools to make it easy for everyday Angelenos to navigate city services. This affordable housing map is just one example of the resources we are already providing even though we are not yet in office.” 

About Kenneth Mejia

Kenneth Mejia is a Certified Public Accountant (CPA) and housing justice activist born and raised in LA. To date, Kenneth has been endorsed by progressives and community leaders including California Assemblymember Alex Lee, Dr. Melina Abdullah (Co-founder of Black Lives Matter – LA), and a large number of Neighborhood Council Board Members and California Democratic Party Assembly District Delegates.

Website: mejiaforcontroller.com

Twitter | Instagram | TikTok | Facebook: @kennethmejiaLA