لا مشكلة في التدفق النقدي لـ FEMA

15 أبريل

في 21 يناير ، الرئيس جو بايدن أعلن أن الوكالة الفيدرالية لإدارة الطوارئ (FEMA) ستقدم تعويضًا بنسبة 100٪ للبلديات عن التكاليف المرتبطة بإيواء غير المسكنين في ملاجئ غير مجمعة. قبل ذلك ، عرضت الحكومة الفيدرالية أ معدل السداد 75٪

بعد هذا الإعلان ، لم يفشل قادة المدينة فقط في توسيع Project Roomkey ، البرنامج الذي يوفر غرف الفنادق والموتيلات لأنجيلينوس غير المسكونة طبيًا ، ولكنهم قاموا بتقليصه بشكل كبير. في أوجها ، كان Project Roomkey يحتوي على أكثر من 3,700 غرفة مشغولة. اعتبارًا من 12 أبريل ، أقل من 1,700 غرفة مشغولة. الأمر الأكثر إرباكًا هو حقيقة أن العمدة جارسيتي لم يقدم أي أوراق لطلب هذا السداد من وكالة إدارة الطوارئ الفيدرالية (FEMA). 

لماذا لم يتقدم العمدة غارسيتي ومجلس المدينة بهذه الأموال؟ يستشهدون "مشاكل بالسيولة المالية. 

في 12 أبريل في اجتماع مجلس حي ويلشاير سنتر وكوريتاون ، عندما سئل عن هذا ، قال المراقب الحالي لمدينة لوس أنجلوس رون جالبرين ما يلي (نؤكد لنا):

"لقد كنت منزعجًا جدًا من التقارير الإخبارية التي ذكرتها لأنه بصراحة تامة بينما كان لدينا عجز في الميزانية كما كان ، خزانتنا في أي لحظة من الوقت ، ويمكن أن تتقلب اعتمادًا على وقت وصول الأموال ووقت خروجها ، لكن يبلغ رصيد خزينتنا حوالي 10 مليارات دولار وهناك طرق يمكننا من خلالها دفع الأموال لشيء ما إذا علمنا أننا سنحصل عليه. لذا ، فإن حقيقة أننا لم ننفق بالفعل الأموال التي كان بإمكاننا إنفاقها لأننا لم نحصل عليها بعد ، كنت في الواقع منزعجًا بشدة من ذلك وما زلت كذلك لأن النقطة التي أشرت إليها مرارًا وتكرارًا هي إذا كانت المشكلة تتعلق بالتدفق النقدي ، فيمكننا نحن ومكتبنا حل مشكلة التدفق النقدي هذه. لا ينبغي أن يكون هذا هو العائق ". 

- رون جالبرين ، مراقب مدينة لوس أنجلوس

يعمل مراقب المدينة بشكل مستقل عن العمدة ومجلس المدينة ، مما يمنح المكتب سلطة الرد على الأسئلة التي قد تكون غير ملائمة سياسيًا للمسؤولين المنتخبين الآخرين.

مع ظهور هذه المعلومات الآن ، نحث Mayor Garcetti ومجلس المدينة على الاستفادة من مدفوعات FEMA على الفور وتوسيع عدد غرف الفندق / الموتيل المتاحة لإيواء Angelenos غير المسكن. نشجع رئيس البلدية ومجلس المدينة على الاستماع إلى مراقب المدينة والعمل معه عن كثب لضمان توافر الأموال طوال العملية. أخيرًا ، يجب أن تكون أصوات واحتياجات غير المسكن في طليعة أي برنامج يهدف إلى خدمتهم ، ويجب ألا تستخدم هذه البرامج لتبرير النزوح أو التجريم.

من غير المعقول أن يموت خمسة أنجيلينو كل يوم في الشوارع بينما تمتلك مدينة لوس أنجلوس الموارد اللازمة لتوفير غرفة لكل أنجيلينو غير مأوى على الفور.

FEMA Cash Flow Non-Issue

April 15, 2021

On January 21, President Joe Biden announced that FEMA would provide 100% reimbursement to municipalities for costs associated with sheltering the unhoused in non-congregate shelters. Prior to this, the federal government offered a 75% reimbursement rate

Following this announcement, city leaders not only failed to expand Project Roomkey, the program that provides hotel and motel rooms for medically vulnerable unhoused Angelenos, but have dramatically scaled it back. At its height, Project Roomkey had over 3,700 occupied rooms. As of April 12th, less than 1,700 rooms are occupied.  More confounding still is the fact that Mayor Garcetti has not filed any paperwork to request this FEMA reimbursement. 

Why have Mayor Garcetti and City Council not applied for these funds? They cite “cash flow” problems. 

On April 12th at a Wilshire Center-Koreatown Neighborhood Council meeting, when asked about this, current Los Angeles City Controller Ron Galperin said the following (emphasis ours):

“I was very troubled by the news reports that you mentioned because quite frankly while we had had budget shortfalls as it were, our treasury at any given moment in time, and it can fluctuate depending on when money is coming in and when it’s coming out, but our treasury has a balance of around 10-ish billion dollars and there are ways that we can front the money for something if we know that we are going to get it. So the fact that we didn’t actually spend the money that we could’ve spent because we hadn’t yet gotten it, I was actually deeply troubled by that and still am because the point that I’ve made repeatedly is that if the issue is cash flow, we and our office, we can solve that cash flow issue. That should not be the impediment.” 

– Ron Galperin, Los Angeles City Controller

The City Controller works independently of the Mayor and City Council, giving the office power to answer questions that might otherwise be politically inconvenient for other elected officials.

With this information now coming to light, we urge Mayor Garcetti and the City Council to make use of the FEMA reimbursements immediately and expand the number of hotel/motel rooms available to shelter unhoused Angelenos. We encourage the Mayor and City Council to listen to and work closely with the City Controller to ensure the availability of funds throughout the process. Finally, the voices and needs of the unhoused must be at the forefront of any program meant to serve them, and such programs must not be used to justify displacement or criminalization.

It is unconscionable that five Angelenos die every day on the streets while the City of LA has the resources to provide a room to every unhoused Angeleno immediately.