住宿

洛杉矶人每年至少需要赚 87,000 美元才能买得起一间卧室的公寓,而住在洛杉矶的普通人每年只能赚 35,000 美元。 不可否认,洛杉矶市的住房单元严重短缺,需要 480,000 套经济适用房来填补赤字。 

为确保住房是一项人权,我们必须建造优质的公共住房。 目前,一单元住房的成本约为 550,000 美元,这归因于土地成本、开发商、建筑、施工和结构成本。 我们必须削减这些成本的一些想法可能依赖于公共或政府开发商,从而消除任何利润动机,转而专注于建造更多住房。

目前,大多数正在建造的住房是市场价公寓和低收入住房的混合体。 大多数正在建造的住房是 90% 的市场价和 10% 的极低收入,这为需要经济适用房的居民留下了非常稀缺的选择。

此外,现有的和正在建设的保障性住房都有临时保障性住房契约(30年/55年),这意味着一旦契约期满,房东可以提高曾经支付低租金的家庭的租金(例如800美元)月)到市场租金(例如每月 2,000 美元)。

作为城市控制器,我们将向民选官员提供信息,使他们能够做出更明智的政策决定。 这些信息还将帮助活动家争取更公平的住房政策。 

我们的活动已经在做市控制器的工作,为用户提供一个交互式地图,让用户浏览洛杉矶的所有公寓,并在 2010 年至 2021 年 XNUMX 月期间授予经济适用房契约。该工具可帮助租房者在洛杉矶市找到经济适用房。 访问 https://affordablehousing.mejiaforcontroller.com.

作为城市控制器,我们将:

  • 与洛杉矶住房部门合作,创建洛杉矶市所有住房单元的数据库。 我们将努力确保该数据库更新最新的空置信息、价格和租房者申请的方式。  
  • 确定经济适用房契约到期的公寓。 我们的活动实际上最近发现并公布了即将到期的经济适用房契约的数量(见: twitter.com/kennethmejiaLA/status/1440795034501017601). 
  • 计算购买这些即将到期的经济适用房建筑并将其转换为永久经济适用的社区控制住房的成本。
  • 计算使用公共部门工人与私人/非营利工人建造优质公共住房的成本。 反过来,我们也可以计算如果我们拥有没有盈利动机的住房,我们会节省多少。
  • 报告每年建造或损失多少公共住房和经济适用房。
  • 审核洛杉矶市的家庭共享单元(如 AirBnB)的数量以及该市执法的有效性,以确保它们符合城市法规
  • 审核房屋署处理租户投诉的成效,以及解决租户/房东纠纷所需的时间。
  • 计算洛杉矶市每年有多少驱逐以及驱逐的原因。
  • 与住房部合作,创建全市范围内每个公寓大楼租金上涨的跟踪器,以显示整个城市的租金上涨幅度,以便更好地制定有关租金控制的决策。 
  • 与住房部门合作,创建一个全市范围内的每个公寓大楼的空置单元增加跟踪器,以显示整个城市的租金增加了多少,以便更好地制定有关空置控制的决策。
  • 探索不同的与住房相关的税费,为洛杉矶市创造收入:
    • 空置税——洛杉矶市可以产生高达 150 亿美元的空置税或仿照奥克兰空置税模型的空置房屋税,该模型向开发商/物业管理公司收取空置物业的固定费用。 洛杉矶市有 80,000 至 100,000 个空置单位。
    • 联动费——联动费向开发商每平方英尺收取新的非住宅开发和开发新的市场价住宅单位的费用。

Housing

Angelenos need to make at least $87,000 a year to afford a one-bedroom apartment, while the average person living in Los Angeles makes only $35,000 a year. It’s undeniable that the  City of LA has a severe shortage of housing units, requiring 480,000 affordable units to fill the deficit. 

To ensure that housing is a human right, we must build quality public housing. One unit of housing currently costs around $550,000, which is attributed to land costs, developers, architecture, construction, and structural costs. Some ideas that we have to trim these costs is potentially relying on a public or government developer, thereby removing any profit motive and instead focus on building more housing.

Currently, most housing being built is a mixture of market rate apartments and low-income housing. Most of the housing being built is 90% market rate and 10% extremely low-income, which leaves very scarce options for residents in need of affordable housing.

In addition, current affordable housing that exists and being built have temporary affordable housing covenants (30 years / 55 years), which means that once the covenant expires, the landlord can raise the rents of families who used to pay low rent (e.g. $800 a month) to market rate rent (e.g. $2,000 a month).

As City Controller, we would provide information to elected officials that enables them to make more informed policy decisions. This information would also aid activists in fighting for more equitable housing policies. 

Our campaign is already doing the work of the City Controller by providing an interactive map for users to browse all apartments in Los Angeles with affordable housing covenants granted from 2010-May 2021. This tool helps renters locate affordable housing in the City of LA. Visit https://affordablehousing.mejiaforcontroller.com.

As City Controller, we will:

  • Work with the LA Housing Department to create a database of all housing units in the City of LA. We will work to ensure this database is updated with current vacancy information, pricing, and ways for renters to apply.  
  • Identify apartments with expiring affordable housing covenants. Our campaign actually recently discovered and publicized the number of expiring affordable housing covenants (See: twitter.com/kennethmejiaLA/status/1440795034501017601). 
  • Calculate the costs to purchase and convert these expiring affordable housing buildings into permanently affordable community-controlled housing.
  • Provide calculations on how much it would cost to build quality public housing using public sector workers vs private/non-profit workers. In turn, we can also calculate how much savings we would have if we had housing with no profit motive.
  • Report on how much public and affordable housing is built or lost each year.
  • Audit the number of homeshare units in the City of LA like AirBnBs and the effectiveness of the city’s enforcement to ensure they are in compliance with city regulations
  • Audit how effective the Housing Department is handling tenant complaints and the time it takes to resolve tenant/landlord disputes.
  • Calculate how many evictions there are per year in the City of LA and the reasons for eviction.
  • Work with the Housing Department to create a citywide tracker of rent increases per apartment complex to show how much rent is increasing throughout the city for better policy making decisions regarding rent control. 
  • Work with the Housing Department to create a citywide tracker of vacancy unit increases per apartment complex to show how much rent is increasing throughout the city for better policy making decisions regarding vacancy control.
  • Explore different housing-related taxes and fees to generate revenue for the City of LA:
    • Vacancy tax – The City of LA can generate up to $150M with a vacancy tax or empty homes tax modeled after the Oakland vacancy tax model, which charges a flat fee to developers/property management companies of vacant properties. There are between 80,000 – 100,000 vacant units in the City of LA.
    • Linkage fees – Linkage fees charge developers per square foot on new nonresidential development and the development of new market rate residential units.