السكن

يحتاج Angelenos إلى جني 87,000 دولار على الأقل سنويًا لشراء شقة بغرفة نوم واحدة ، بينما يحصل الشخص العادي الذي يعيش في لوس أنجلوس على 35,000 دولار فقط في السنة. لا يمكن إنكار أن مدينة لوس أنجلوس تعاني من نقص حاد في الوحدات السكنية ، مما يتطلب 480,000 وحدة ميسورة التكلفة لسد العجز. 

لضمان أن الإسكان هو حق من حقوق الإنسان ، يجب علينا بناء مساكن عامة جيدة. تبلغ تكلفة الوحدة السكنية حاليًا حوالي 550,000 ألف دولار ، وهو ما يُعزى إلى تكاليف الأرض والمطورين والعمارة والتشييد والتكاليف الإنشائية. من المحتمل أن تعتمد بعض الأفكار التي يتعين علينا خفض هذه التكاليف على مطور عام أو حكومي ، وبالتالي إزالة أي دافع للربح والتركيز بدلاً من ذلك على بناء المزيد من المساكن.

حاليًا ، معظم المساكن التي يتم بناؤها عبارة عن مزيج من الشقق بسعر السوق ومساكن ذوي الدخل المنخفض. معظم المساكن التي يتم بناؤها هي 90٪ بسعر السوق و 10٪ منخفضة الدخل للغاية ، مما يترك خيارات نادرة جدًا للمقيمين الذين يحتاجون إلى سكن بأسعار معقولة.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن المساكن الحالية الميسورة التكلفة الموجودة والتي يتم بناؤها لها مواثيق مؤقتة للإسكان الميسور التكلفة (30 عامًا / 55 عامًا) ، مما يعني أنه بمجرد انتهاء العهد ، يمكن للمالك رفع إيجارات العائلات التي اعتادت على دفع إيجار منخفض (على سبيل المثال 800 دولار أمريكي) شهر) لتسويق سعر الإيجار (مثل 2,000 دولار شهريًا).

بصفتنا مراقب المدينة ، سنوفر المعلومات للمسؤولين المنتخبين التي تمكنهم من اتخاذ قرارات سياسية أكثر استنارة. ستساعد هذه المعلومات النشطاء أيضًا في النضال من أجل سياسات إسكان أكثر إنصافًا. 

تقوم حملتنا بالفعل بعمل مراقب المدينة من خلال توفير خريطة تفاعلية للمستخدمين لتصفح جميع الشقق في لوس أنجلوس مع مواثيق الإسكان الميسور التكلفة الممنوحة من 2010 إلى مايو 2021. تساعد هذه الأداة المستأجرين في تحديد أماكن السكن بأسعار معقولة في مدينة لوس أنجلوس. زيارة https://affordablehousing.mejiaforcontroller.com.

بصفتنا مراقب المدينة ، سنقوم بما يلي:

  • اعمل مع دائرة الإسكان بلوس أنجلوس لإنشاء قاعدة بيانات لجميع الوحدات السكنية في مدينة لوس أنجلوس. سنعمل على ضمان تحديث قاعدة البيانات هذه بمعلومات الوظائف الشاغرة الحالية والأسعار وطرق التقديم للمستأجرين.  
  • تحديد الشقق التي انتهت صلاحية مواثيق الإسكان الميسور التكلفة. اكتشفت حملتنا مؤخرًا ونشرت عددًا من مواثيق الإسكان الميسور المنتهية الصلاحية (انظر: twitter.com/kennethmejiaLA/status/1440795034501017601). 
  • احسب تكاليف الشراء وتحويل هذه المباني السكنية الميسورة الصلاحية المنتهية الصلاحية إلى مساكن ميسورة التكلفة بشكل دائم يسيطر عليها المجتمع.
  • قدم حسابات حول تكلفة بناء مساكن عامة عالية الجودة باستخدام عمال القطاع العام مقابل العاملين في القطاع الخاص / غير الربحي. في المقابل ، يمكننا أيضًا حساب مقدار المدخرات التي سنحصل عليها إذا كان لدينا سكن بدون دافع ربح.
  • تقرير عن مقدار المساكن العامة وذات التكلفة المعقولة التي يتم بناؤها أو فقدانها كل عام.
  • قم بتدقيق عدد وحدات المشاركة المنزلية في مدينة لوس أنجلوس مثل AirBnBs وفعالية تطبيق المدينة للتأكد من امتثالها للوائح المدينة
  • تدقيق مدى فعالية إدارة الإسكان في معالجة شكاوى المستأجرين والوقت الذي يستغرقه حل نزاعات المستأجر / المالك.
  • احسب عدد عمليات الإخلاء التي تتم سنويًا في مدينة لوس أنجلوس وأسباب الإخلاء.
  • اعمل مع إدارة الإسكان لإنشاء أداة تعقب على مستوى المدينة للزيادات في الإيجار لكل مجمع سكني لإظهار مقدار الإيجار المتزايد في جميع أنحاء المدينة لاتخاذ قرارات أفضل فيما يتعلق بالتحكم في الإيجارات. 
  • اعمل مع إدارة الإسكان لإنشاء أداة تعقب على مستوى المدينة لزيادة الوحدات الشاغرة لكل مجمع سكني لإظهار مقدار الإيجار المتزايد في جميع أنحاء المدينة لاتخاذ قرارات أفضل بشأن اتخاذ القرارات فيما يتعلق بالتحكم في الوظائف الشاغرة.
  • استكشف الضرائب والرسوم المختلفة المتعلقة بالإسكان لتوليد إيرادات لمدينة لوس أنجلوس:
    • ضريبة الوظائف الشاغرة - يمكن لمدينة لوس أنجلوس أن تولد ما يصل إلى 150 مليون دولار مع ضريبة الوظائف الشاغرة أو ضريبة المنازل الفارغة على غرار نموذج ضريبة الوظائف الشاغرة في أوكلاند ، والتي تفرض رسومًا ثابتة على المطورين / شركات إدارة الممتلكات للممتلكات الشاغرة. هناك ما بين 80,000 - 100,000 وحدة شاغرة في مدينة لوس أنجلوس.
    • رسوم الربط - تفرض رسوم الربط على المطورين لكل قدم مربع على التطوير غير السكني الجديد وتطوير الوحدات السكنية بسعر السوق الجديد.

Housing

Angelenos need to make at least $87,000 a year to afford a one-bedroom apartment, while the average person living in Los Angeles makes only $35,000 a year. It’s undeniable that the  City of LA has a severe shortage of housing units, requiring 480,000 affordable units to fill the deficit. 

To ensure that housing is a human right, we must build quality public housing. One unit of housing currently costs around $550,000, which is attributed to land costs, developers, architecture, construction, and structural costs. Some ideas that we have to trim these costs is potentially relying on a public or government developer, thereby removing any profit motive and instead focus on building more housing.

Currently, most housing being built is a mixture of market rate apartments and low-income housing. Most of the housing being built is 90% market rate and 10% extremely low-income, which leaves very scarce options for residents in need of affordable housing.

In addition, current affordable housing that exists and being built have temporary affordable housing covenants (30 years / 55 years), which means that once the covenant expires, the landlord can raise the rents of families who used to pay low rent (e.g. $800 a month) to market rate rent (e.g. $2,000 a month).

As City Controller, we would provide information to elected officials that enables them to make more informed policy decisions. This information would also aid activists in fighting for more equitable housing policies. 

Our campaign is already doing the work of the City Controller by providing an interactive map for users to browse all apartments in Los Angeles with affordable housing covenants granted from 2010-May 2021. This tool helps renters locate affordable housing in the City of LA. Visit https://affordablehousing.mejiaforcontroller.com.

As City Controller, we will:

  • Work with the LA Housing Department to create a database of all housing units in the City of LA. We will work to ensure this database is updated with current vacancy information, pricing, and ways for renters to apply.  
  • Identify apartments with expiring affordable housing covenants. Our campaign actually recently discovered and publicized the number of expiring affordable housing covenants (See: twitter.com/kennethmejiaLA/status/1440795034501017601). 
  • Calculate the costs to purchase and convert these expiring affordable housing buildings into permanently affordable community-controlled housing.
  • Provide calculations on how much it would cost to build quality public housing using public sector workers vs private/non-profit workers. In turn, we can also calculate how much savings we would have if we had housing with no profit motive.
  • Report on how much public and affordable housing is built or lost each year.
  • Audit the number of homeshare units in the City of LA like AirBnBs and the effectiveness of the city’s enforcement to ensure they are in compliance with city regulations
  • Audit how effective the Housing Department is handling tenant complaints and the time it takes to resolve tenant/landlord disputes.
  • Calculate how many evictions there are per year in the City of LA and the reasons for eviction.
  • Work with the Housing Department to create a citywide tracker of rent increases per apartment complex to show how much rent is increasing throughout the city for better policy making decisions regarding rent control. 
  • Work with the Housing Department to create a citywide tracker of vacancy unit increases per apartment complex to show how much rent is increasing throughout the city for better policy making decisions regarding vacancy control.
  • Explore different housing-related taxes and fees to generate revenue for the City of LA:
    • Vacancy tax – The City of LA can generate up to $150M with a vacancy tax or empty homes tax modeled after the Oakland vacancy tax model, which charges a flat fee to developers/property management companies of vacant properties. There are between 80,000 – 100,000 vacant units in the City of LA.
    • Linkage fees – Linkage fees charge developers per square foot on new nonresidential development and the development of new market rate residential units.