我们的平台和签署的承诺

有效

通过执行以结果为导向的财务和绩效审计,确保市政府及其部门代表市有效和高效地运作。 这些审计旨在查明纽约市及其部门是否代表洛杉矶人民有效和高效地使用资源。 我们还希望确保发现浪费的支出,与公众分享并消除,以便将资金重新定向到其他地方。

透明

确保向公众公开所有财务数据——从为城市活动购买食物到为洛杉矶警察局购买直升机。 透明度是让人们相信市政府为洛杉矶人民的最大利益收款和花钱的关键 公众常常不知道市政府如何筹集资金、多少资金以及这些资金是如何分配和分配的。花费。

及时

及时向公众提供财务数据,尤其是与预算、工资和所有财务记录的会计有关的财务数据至关重要。 洛杉矶人民需要随时获得财务信息,以便在与市议会议员、市长和其他政策制定者交谈时代表他们自己的最大利益有效地进行宣传。

问责

确保按照公认会计原则 (GAAP) 正确记录和核算所有城市部门的财务数据。 洛杉矶人民必须能够相信我们的财务状况得到了正确的核算和呈现。 此外,确保市政府及其部门对其做出的所有具有财务影响的决策负责。 

亲民

确保洛杉矶市的所有财务数据易于访问和理解,以便洛杉矶人民可以访问我们的网站并访问财务信息,而不会感到困惑或遇到障碍来获取他们需要的数据。 很多时候,当涉及到城市政府的财务信息时,有数十万行难以破译或理解的财务数据。 我们的目标是消除这种情况,使财务数据易于访问且易于使用。 

教育性

使用城市控制器办公室每周举办免费课程,教授洛杉矶人民如何浏览控制器的网站,特别是在查找财务数据、以有效方式下载该数据(因为数据非常大)以及如何阅读该财务数据以帮助做出更好的决策。 其他一些教育活动将教人们如何使用 Excel,学习财务术语,并就与城市财务有关的任何事情进行公众问答。

签署的承诺

绿色新政承诺

我们签署了日出运动绿色新政承诺,以倡导绿色新政的价值观。 我们承诺不接受来自石油、天然气和煤炭行业的任何捐赠。

 

房屋保证

我们签署了 房屋保证 承诺,因为我们相信住房是一项人权。 我们拒绝任何开发商和房地产的贡献。

没有警察钱

我们承诺不接受来自警察或惩教人员工会或协会的捐款或认可,而是将保护黑人生命和我们的社区置于警察镇压和监禁行业之上。

患者超过利润

我们承诺,我们不会从与美国医疗保健未来合作伙伴组织的医院、保险和制药公司有关联的高管、游说者和 PAC 那里获得超过 200 美元的捐款,而是承诺将健康、良好的我的选民的存在和安全高于企业健康行业的利润。

作为我们为所有人争取医疗保健的承诺的一部分,我们承诺尽一切努力推进 CA 议会 1400 号法案 保证人人享有医疗保健 行动(CalCare)。

人民预算洛杉矶参与式预算承诺

  • 通过做出这一承诺,我们承诺在我们担任民选职位的每个预算周期都进行参与式预算编制过程。 尽我们的能力——在我们的相关影响范围内——我们承诺:
  • 每个预算周期至少举行一次参与式预算会议
  • 授权选民投入以有意义地影响公共资金的使用方式
  • 优先考虑服务不足人群的声音和需求,特别是 BIPOC 社区

Our Platform & Signed Pledges

Effective

Ensure that City Government and its departments are operating effectively and efficiently on the City’s behalf by performing results-driven financial and performance audits. These audits will aim to find out if the City and its departments are using resources effectively and efficiently on behalf of the people of Los Angeles. We also want to ensure that wasteful spending is identified, shared to the public, and is eliminated so that funds can be redirected elsewhere.

Transparent

Ensure ALL financial data is made available to the public – from the purchase of food for a City event to the purchase of a helicopter for the Los Angeles Police Department. Transparency is key to getting people to trust City government to collect and spend money in the best interests of the people of L.A. Far too often, the public is not aware of how the City collects funds, how much, and how those funds are allocated and spent.

Timely

It is crucial that  financial data especially relating to budgets, payroll, and accounting of all financial records is made available to the public in a timely manner. The people of L.A. need to have financial information readily available in order to effectively advocate on behalf of their own best interests when they talk to their City Council Members, the Mayor, and other policymakers.

Accountable

Ensure all City departments’ financial data are recorded and accounted for correctly in accordance with Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP). the people of Los Angeles must be able to trust that our finances are accounted for and presented correctly. In addition, ensure the City government and its departments are held accountable for all decisions they make which have financial impacts. 

People-Friendly

Ensure that all financial data on the City of Los Angeles is easily accessible and easy to understand so that the people of L.A. can go on our website and access financial information without getting confused or going through hurdles to get the data they need. Far too often, when it comes to financial information of city governments, there are hundreds of thousands of rows of financial data that can be difficult to decipher or understand. Our goal is to eliminate that and make financial data easily accessible and people-friendly. 

Educational

Use the Office of City Controller to hold free weekly classes teaching the people of L.A. how to navigate the Controller’s website, especially when it relates to finding financial data, downloading that data in an effective way (since data is very large), and how to read that financial data to help with better decision making. Some other educational activities would be teaching people how to use Excel, learning financial terms, and doing Q&A sessions from the public about anything related to the finances of the City.

Signed Pledges

Green New Deal Pledge

We have signed the Sunrise Movement Green New Deal Pledge to champion the values of the Green New Deal. We pledge to not accept any donations from the oil, gas, and coal industry.

Homes Guarantee

We signed the Homes Guarantee pledge because we believe that housing is a human right. We reject any developer and real estate contributions.

No Cop Money

We pledge to not to accept contributions or endorsements from police or correctional officer unions or associations and instead prioritize the protection of Black lives and our communities over police repression and the incarceration industry.

Patients Over Profits

We pledge that we will not take contributions over $200 from executives, lobbyists, and PACs affiliated with the hospital, insurance, and pharma corporations within the corporate front group, Partnership for America’s Health Care Future, and instead pledge to put the health, well-being, and safety of my constituents over corporate health industry profits.

As part of our commitment to fight for healthcare for all, we pledge to do everything in our power to advance CA Assembly Bill 1400 Guaranteed Health Care for All Act (CalCare).

People’s Budget LA Participatory Budget Pledge

  • By taking this pledge, we commit to holding a participatory budgeting process each budget cycle we hold elected office. To the best of our ability — and within our relevant sphere of influence — we pledge to:
  • Hold at least one participatory budgeting session per budget cycle
  • Empower constituent input to meaningfully impact how public money is spent
  • Prioritize the voices and needs of underserved people, specifically BIPOC communities